The Vanuatu Holiday Winter Recommended

Vanuatu– What a trip and the volcano….WOW!

Small boat on the beach right in front of a volcano in VanuatuHello fellow adventurers! I have recently got back from my 2013 winter get away and what a wonderful experience I had.

Although it was short (4 nights 5 days), I was able to work on my tan and relaxed in this beautiful and lay back environment.

Apart from chillaxing on the beach, I really wanted to see my very first ACTIVE volcano,Mount Yasur! I’m up for any challenge (have trekked Ciudad Perdida or Lost City in Colombia and The Great Wall in China) but none of my adventures had the chances of me getting incinerated, not exactly my idea of a beautiful tan line!

When we got there, you could really feel the majestic power of one of the few active volcanoes in the world, the smell in the air, the dark sand and apocalyptic landscape really gets your heart rate going!

The noises this volcano makes is indescribable and the smoke coming out of it makes you think twice about getting any closer, but all in all it was an amazing experience and a definitely must go destination!

Port Villa view from an Air Vanuatu airplane

Port Villa – Vanuatu

My girlfriend organized the trip for us and we flew into Vanuatu with Air Vanuatu . I actually felt I was on holidays from the moment our very friendly and accommodating steward (a Vanuatu local) offered us a drink, I wanted to ask for a pinna colada and a hula dance, but then I remember I wasn’t going to Hawaii.

Espiritu Santo , the largest island was INCREDIBLE! You really have to be there to truly appreciate the amazing white sand beaches and literally see through waters! (I wished I had brought my beach cricket set), nevertheless, it was a magical place to relax, meditate and look at how close your toes are through the crystal clear water!

I wanted to eat seafood every day (since its an island) and I did! But my better half isn’t a big fan. Not worry though, I went to the Wild Pig Restaurant as recommended by Lonely Planet and let me tell you, I haven’t tried a better Wild Pig feast in my life (then again it was my first one) but it was great, so juicy and so filling!
If you want to have a great feast and lay on the beach for the next few hours scratching your belly, do go to this amazing restaurant.

Anyway, I’m out of here not, Melbourne is kind of sunny today but I could see those nasty grey clouds coming in, I keep trying to stick as many photos from my holiday, just to remind me how a wonderful time I had, but they just keep on talking to me….(come back Will, come back…)

Signing off for now…..

Leave a comment